

Legislation Text

File #: 2021-1390, Version: 1

To: County of Sonoma Board of Supervisors Department or Agency Name(s): Department of Health Services Staff Name and Phone Number: Tina Rivera, 707-565-4774 Vote Requirement: Majority Supervisorial District(s): Countywide

## **Recommended Action:**

Approve the Appointment of provider representatives Sean Sullivan and JohnRey Hassan to serve on the Sonoma County Emergency Medical Care Council for the term October 24, 2021 through October 24, 2023.

## **Executive Summary:**

This item requests the Board of Supervisors approve the appointment of two provider representatives to the Sonoma County Emergency Medical Care Council.

In accordance with California Health and Safety Code Section 1797.270, each county may establish an emergency medical care committee to review the operations of ambulance services, emergency medical care, and first aid practices in the county. In 1968, the Sonoma County Board of Supervisors created the Emergency Medical Care Council to serve as an advisory committee on emergency medical services for Sonoma County. Bylaws to outline the purpose, membership, structure, and function of the committee were created and approved by the Board in 1990. The Emergency Medical Care Council has served in an advisory capacity to the Sonoma County Board of Supervisors and Coastal Valleys Emergency Medical Services Agency since that time.

## **Discussion:**

The Emergency Medical Care Council performs the following activities in its advisory role to the Sonoma County Board of Supervisors and Coastal Valleys Emergency Medical Services Agency: 1) reviews all aspects of emergency medical services in Sonoma County, 2) provides system oversight and maintenance, 3) engages in long-term planning and coordination of public education and injury prevention activities as they relate to emergency medical services, and 4) reports annually to the Board of Supervisors.

The Emergency Medical Care Council consists of 17 voting members, including both consumers and providers of Emergency Medical Services. Normally, nominations of qualified applicants must be submitted to the Board of Supervisors within ninety days for selection and appointment.

### **Consumers:**

One consumer representative from each Supervisorial District and two at-large representatives; consumer representatives serve on the EMCC until a replacement is appointed by the Board of Supervisors.

## Providers:

Provider members of the EMCC serve for a two (2) year term. Selection process must be repeated every two years and affected in odd years. Members may be selected to consecutive terms. The Sonoma County EMS Agency coordinates selection of representatives from ambulance provider agencies, hospitals, and dispatch agencies.

## File #: 2021-1390, Version: 1

Two representatives are from hospitals providing a basic emergency medical service. One of these members must be an emergency department physician and one must be an emergency department nurse. Hospital representatives must be from different facilities. The EMS Agency solicits nominees from the administrator of each base and receiving hospital in Sonoma County; the current EMCC membership votes for the representative.

Two representatives are from ambulance provider agencies in Sonoma County. One representative must be from the exclusive operating area provider agency.

Nominees are solicited from the owner/director of each approved ambulance provider agency in Sonoma County; the current EMCC membership shall vote for the representative.

One representative is from the authorized EMS Dispatch (REDCOM).

The following provider representatives are nominated by their respective associations.

Two representatives are selected from field EMS personnel, at least one of whom must be a currently accredited paramedic. The Sonoma County Paramedic Association nominates the representatives.

Two representatives are selected from first responder agencies. The Sonoma County Fire Chief's Association nominates the first responder representatives.

One representative is from Sonoma County law agencies The Sonoma County Police Chief's Association nominates the representative.

The appointment of JohnRey Hassan as Ambulance Franchise representative is due to leadership changes at the Franchise provider agency. The appointment of Sean Sullivan as Non-Franchise Ambulance Representative is due to the resignation of Bob Norrbom to allow him to accept appointment as District 1 Representative. Bob Norrbom's appointment recommendation has been addressed by District 1 in a subsequent Board item.

As provider representatives, the terms of Sean Sullivan and JohnRey Hassan will be from October 24, 2021 through October 24, 2023.

# **Prior Board Actions:**

On October 19, 2021 the Board approved the appointment of Jeffrey Snow to the Emergency Medical Care Council, 2021-1122 effective for the term of October 19, 2021 until a replacement is appointed by the Board of Supervisors.

On September 22, 2020 the Board approved the reappointment of Fred Seydel to the Sonoma County Emergency Medical Care Council serving a two-year term beginning September 22, 2020 and expiring September 22, 2022.

On September 1, 2020 the Board approved the appointment of Timothy D. Aboudara, Jr. to the Emergency Medical Care Council for a two-year term beginning September 1, 2020 and ending August 31, 2022.

On August 18, 2020 the Board approved the appointment of provider representatives KT McNulty, Jeff Schach, Todd Axberg to the Sonoma County Emergency Medical Care Council for the term August 18, 2020 through August 31, 2023 and B) approved the reappointment of provider representatives Dean Anderson, Brad Silvestro, Jim Levy, Stephen Akre, Dr. Mark Lagrave, Bob Norrbom, and Mike Bates to the Sonoma County Emergency Medical Care Council for the term August 18, 2020 through August 31, 2023.

On August 15, 2017 the Board approved the following appointments/reappointments to the Sonoma County Emergency Medical Care Council: 1) appointment of consumer representatives Dave Smith and Linda

## File #: 2021-1390, Version: 1

Anderson; 2) reappointment of consumer representative Fred Seydel; 3) appointment of provider representatives Aaron Abbott, Brad Silvestro, Dave Kahn, Stephen Akre, and Mike Bates; and 4) reappointment of provider representatives Dean Anderson, Bob Norrbom, Jim Levy, Malissa Opulencia, and Mark Lagrave.

On July 11, 2017 the Board approved David Bynum as an alternate to the Emergency Medical Care Council for a two-year term beginning July 11, 2017 and ending July 11, 2019.

## **FISCAL SUMMARY**

Expenditures	FY 21-22	FY 22-23	FY 23-24
	Adopted	Projected	Projected
Budgeted Expenses			
Additional Appropriation Requested			
Total Expenditures	0	0	0
Funding Sources			
General Fund/WA GF			
State/Federal			
Fees/Other			
Use of Fund Balance			
Contingencies			
Total Sources	0	0	0

## Narrative Explanation of Fiscal Impacts:

There are no fiscal impacts associated with this item.

Staffing Impacts:			
Position Title (Payroll Classification)	Monthly Salary Range (A-I Step)	Additions (Number)	Deletions (Number)

Narrative Explanation of Staffing Impacts (If Required): N/A

#### Attachments:

None

# Related Items "On File" with the Clerk of the Board:

None